home ›› copyright guidelines ›› footer menu ›› About Us

About Us

The National Copyright Unit (NCU) is a specialist copyright team responsible for copyright policy and administration for Australian schools and TAFE. It advises and supports the Copyright Advisory Group (CAG), a committee of the Australian Ministerial Council for Education, Early Childhood Development and Youth Affairs (MCEECDYA). CAG members include government schools and the TAFE sector as well as most Catholic and independent schools in Australia. Under the Australian Constitution, copyright is a federal responsibility while education is managed by the states and territories. CAG ensures co-ordination and co-operation between the states and territories in relation to copyright as a national issue. The NCU is based in Sydney and consists of the National Copyright Director, National Copyright Manager, National Copyright Officer and Executive Assistant. Its primary responsibilities include:

  • Negotiating statutory and voluntary licences with copyright collecting societies on behalf of schools and TAFE
  • Liaising with other education sectors and industry bodies on copyright policy issues
  • Preparing submissions to Government inquiries on educational copyright issues
  • Providing specialist copyright advice to jurisdictions on copyright issues affecting schools and TAFE
  • Implementing Smart Copying initiatives including the National Education Access Licence for Schools (NEALS) designed to reduce the cost of copying within school

All inquiries about the National Copyright Unit should be directed to:

Delia Browne
National Copyright Director
National Copyright Unit
Level 5, 35 Bridge Street, Sydney
Tel: 02 9561 8876
Email: Delia.Browne@det.nsw.edu.au